A noncommercial collection of information about citizenship, dual citizenship and multiple citizenship

[Please refer to How to Read a Country Entry for help interpreting this material. It was produced prior to March 2001 as part of a US government report entitled Citizenship Laws of the World. The accuracy and depth of these country listings varies significantly, and some information may be incorrect. At best, this page presents only part of the story for a particular country. Additional information for this country may be available in Country Information]


CITIZENSHIP: Citizenship laws are based upon Law #55 dated June 1, 1993.

BY BIRTH: Birth within the territory of Hungary does not automatically confer citizenship. The exception is a child born to unknown or stateless parents.

BY DESCENT: Child, at least one of whose parents is a citizen of Hungary, regardless of the child's country of birth.

BY NATURALIZATION: Hungarian citizenship may be acquired upon fulfillment of the following conditions: Persons with no ethnic ties to Hungary must reside in the country for eight years. Foreigners who marry Hungarian nationals, or who are parents of Hungarian citizen minors, or who have been adopted by Hungarian nationals, or who have been recognized as refugees by Hungarian authorities, need only reside in the country for three years. Members of an ethnic Hungarian minority of another country need only reside in the country for one year.



VOLUNTARY: Voluntary renunciation of Hungarian citizenship is permitted. Persons seeking to renounce citizenship must address a written statement to the President of the Republic. The Embassy can provide information and assistance, but is not able to act for the person.

INVOLUNTARY: The following is grounds for involuntary loss of Hungarian citizenship: Naturalized citizenship was gained by false statements.

ANY QUESTIONS concerning citizenship, or requests for renunciation of citizenship, should be directed to the Hungarian Embassy or Consulate whose consulate district extends to the person's permanent or usual residence. The consular districts are as follows:

Embassy in Washington covers the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington DC, and West Virginia.

Contact the Embassy of the Republic of Hungary, Consular Section, 3910 Shoemaker St., NW, Washington, DC 20008, Embassy/Consular Telephone: 202-362-6730, Fax: 202-966-8135. Office hours: Monday to Friday 9:00 -3:00.

Consulate General in New York covers the following states: Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Wisconsin.

Contact the Consulate General of the Republic of Hungary, Consular Section, 223 52nd Street, New York, NY 10022, Consular Telephone 212-752-0661. Office hours: Monday to Friday 9:30 -12:30.

Consulate General in Los Angeles covers the following states: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

Contact the Consulate General of the Republic of Hungary, Consular Section, 11766 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 410, Los Angeles, CA 90025, Consular Telephone 310-473-9344. Office hours: Monday to Friday 9:30 -13:00



Help us improve this site!
Important information and Disclaimer

Copyright (C) 2002-2007 All rights reserved.